द्वादश ज्योतिर्लिंगों के नाम



Jyotirlingas are sacred shrines dedicated to Lord Shiva in Hinduism. There are twelve Jyotirlingas scattered across India, each with its unique significance and legend. These lingams are considered to be manifestations of the divine light of Lord Shiva. Pilgrimage to these revered sites holds immense spiritual importance for devotees. Let’s delve into the names and locations of the twelve Jyotirlingas.

Somnath Jyotirlinga
Location: Gujarat
Somnath Jyotirlinga, situated in the Prabhas Kshetra near Veraval in Saurashtra, is one of the most revered pilgrimage sites in India. The lingam is said to have been self-manifested and is synonymous with immortality and eternal peace.

Mallikarjuna Jyotirlinga
Location: Andhra Pradesh
Mallikarjuna Jyotirlinga is located at Srisailam on the banks of River Krishna. It represents the aspect of timelessness and divine bliss.

Mahakaleshwar Jyotirlinga
Location: Madhya Pradesh
Situated in Ujjain, the Mahakaleshwar Jyotirlinga is associated with deathlessness and eternity. It is believed that Lord Shiva bestows salvation upon those who worship Him here.

Omkareshwar Jyotirlinga
Location: Madhya Pradesh
The Omkareshwar Jyotirlinga, nestled on the serene island of Mandhata in the Narmada River, symbolizes divinity and holy wisdom. It is a site of immense spiritual energy.

Kedarnath Jyotirlinga
Location: Uttarakhand
Perched in the Himalayan heights of Uttarakhand, the Kedarnath Jyotirlinga epitomizes cosmic serenity and divine purity. It holds great significance in Hindu mythology.

Bhimashankar Jyotirlinga
Location: Maharashtra
The Bhimashankar Jyotirlinga, located in the Sahyadri Range, is associated with transformation and divine strength. It is a place where devotees seek rejuvenation and spiritual awakening.

Kashi Vishwanath Jyotirlinga
Location: Uttar Pradesh
Kashi Vishwanath Jyotirlinga in Varanasi is revered as the city of light and the giver of salvation. It is a place where devotees attain spiritual enlightenment and divine grace.

Trimbakeshwar Jyotirlinga
Location: Maharashtra
Situated in Nasik, the Trimbakeshwar Jyotirlinga symbolizes the threefold light of Lord Shiva. It is a site of purification and inner peace.

Vaidyanath Jyotirlinga
Location: Jharkhand
Vaidyanath Jyotirlinga in Deoghar is associated with healing and well-being. It is believed that worshipping here grants freedom from diseases and suffering.

Nageshwar Jyotirlinga
Location: Gujarat
The Nageshwar Jyotirlinga in Dwarka is known for its significance in removing negativity and obstacles. It is a sacred site where devotees seek protection and blessings from Lord Shiva.

Rameshwar Jyotirlinga
Location: Tamil Nadu
Rameshwar Jyotirlinga on the island of Rameswaram signifies purity and spiritual awakening. It is a place of pilgrimage and divine grace.

Ghrishneshwar Jyotirlinga
Location: Maharashtra
Ghrishneshwar Jyotirlinga, near Ellora Caves, is dedicated to Lord Shiva’s aspect of compassion and divine love. It is a site of renewal and devotion.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

1. What are Jyotirlingas?
Jyotirlingas are sacred shrines in Hinduism dedicated to Lord Shiva, signifying the divine light of the universe.

2. How many Jyotirlingas are there in total?
There are twelve Jyotirlingas spread across India, each holding unique spiritual significance.

3. What is the importance of visiting Jyotirlingas?
Pilgrimage to Jyotirlingas is believed to bestow spiritual benefits, blessings, and divine grace upon devotees.

4. Are there any specific rituals to be followed while visiting Jyotirlingas?
Devotees usually offer prayers, perform abhishekam (ritual bathing of the lingam), and meditate to seek Lord Shiva’s blessings.

5. Can anyone visit the Jyotirlingas, irrespective of their faith?
Yes, the Jyotirlingas are open to all individuals, regardless of their religious beliefs, welcoming everyone seeking spiritual solace.

6. How are the Jyotirlingas different from regular Shiva temples?
Jyotirlingas are believed to embody the unmanifested form of Lord Shiva, representing His cosmic light and energy.

7. Which Jyotirlinga is considered the most auspicious?
All twelve Jyotirlingas hold equal importance in Hindu mythology, with each site carrying its unique blessings and significance.

8. Can women visit Jyotirlingas?
Yes, women are warmly welcomed to visit and seek blessings at Jyotirlingas. There are no restrictions based on gender.

9. Are there any specific days or festivals when it is best to visit the Jyotirlingas?
Maha Shivaratri and Shravan month are considered highly auspicious periods to visit Jyotirlingas, but devotees can visit these sacred sites throughout the year.

10. How can one make the most of their pilgrimage to the Jyotirlingas?
By approaching the visit with faith, humility, and devotion, devotees can experience spiritual elevation and divine grace at the Jyotirlingas.

The twelve Jyotirlingas hold a special place in Hindu spirituality, offering devotees a sacred space to connect with the divine essence of Lord Shiva. Each Jyotirlinga reflects a facet of Lord Shiva’s cosmic energy, bestowing blessings, peace, and spiritual enlightenment upon those who embark on this divine pilgrimage. Visiting these revered sites is not only a journey of physical travel but also a journey of inner exploration and divine communion.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here